SoukLocal dataset · checked
Fit-out approvals by jurisdiction in Dubai
For 11 places in Dubai where a commercial interior fit-out is approved: who approves it, what the permit is called, who submits, and the timing and fee where the body publishes them.
It depends on where the unit is. On the mainland, Dubai Municipality issues a decoration works permit for units over 100 sq m. In DDA zones such as Dubai Internet City, DDA issues the Fit-Out Permit. In Trakhees areas, Trakhees issues a Modification Permit. DMCC, JAFZA, DIFC and Dubai South add their own landlord or authority step. The landlord's consent comes first everywhere.
| Jurisdiction | Approving body | Permit, as the body names it | Who submits | Civil Defence step | Published timing | Fee | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dubai Municipality (mainland) Mainland Dubai, where Dubai Municipality issues building permits | Dubai Municipality | Self Permit to Carry Out Decorative Works (decoration works permit, units over 100 sq m) Units of 100 sq m or less and units in shopping malls need no permit but must meet Civil Defence rules and have the owner's written consent. | Contractor on the Dubai Municipality approved list (building contracting or decor company) | Yes | Instant (self permit) | Not published | [1][2] |
| Dubai Development Authority (DDA) Dubai Internet City, Dubai Media City, Dubai Design District, Dubai Knowledge Park, Dubai Studio City, Dubai Production City, Dubai Science Park and other DDA zones | Dubai Development Authority | Fit-Out Permit No DDA permit for units of 100 sq m or less or units in malls; structural changes, change of use or a mezzanine need a building modification permit. | Fit-out contractor appointed by the tenant | Yes | 2 working days (estimated) | AED 0.90 per sq ft, minimum AED 200, maximum AED 10,000, plus AED 20 | [1][2][3][4][5][6] |
| Trakhees (PCFC areas) Areas of PCFC, Dubai World and affiliates, including Nakheel, Limitless and Dubai Maritime City | Trakhees, Civil Engineering Department (Modification & Compliance) | Modification Permit The procedure states service fees "as per project specification". | Consultant or contractor, online through Trakhees | Not stated | 7 working days from payment approval (target) | Not published | [1][2] |
| DMCC Jumeirah Lakes Towers (JLT) and Uptown Dubai | DMCC (NOC), then Concordia for the fit-out | Request for NOC to Concordia - Fit-out | DMCC company or the property owner (for the NOC) | Not stated | Not published | Varies by type of fit-out; contact Concordia | [1][2][3][4] |
| DIFC Gate District, Gate Village, Gate Avenue, Innovation One and other DIFC Investments buildings | DIFC Investments (landlord), under its Fit-Out Manual | Not published The Fit-Out Manual is given to tenants on the Client Portal; it is not public. | Tenant, through the DIFC Client Portal | Not stated | Not published | Not published | [1][2] |
| JAFZA Jebel Ali Free Zone offices, retail units and warehouses leased from Jafza | Jafza (Modification NOC), Trakhees (modification permit) and Civil Defence for major fit-out | Modification NOC - Jafza Offices & Retail Units (or Jafza Warehouses) | Tenant's fit-out consultant or contractor, through the tenant's Dubai Trade account | Yes | Modification NOC 3 working days; first review 2 working days | Not published | [1][2] |
| Dubai South Dubai South (Dubai World Central) leased premises | Dubai South (Dubai World Central Corporation) | Fit-out Work Permit (with a Fit-out HSEQ NOC) The manual is dated January 2017; confirm fees with Dubai South. | Contractor registered with Dubai South; locally registered consultant for design | Yes | Not published | AED 15 per sq m, minimum AED 2,500 (2017 manual) | [1] |
| Dubai Airport Freezone (DAFZA) Dubai Airport Freezone | Not published | Not published The FAQ points interior design requests to the Customer Portal and an Interior Design team. | Not published | Not stated | Not published | Not published | [1] |
| Dubai World Trade Centre (DWTC) DWTC free zone | DWTC Authority, under its Authority Fit-Out Policy | Not published The Free Zone Rules refer to a fit-out policy that is not published. | Not published | Not stated | Not published | Not published | [1] |
| Dubai Silicon Oasis (DSO) Dubai Silicon Oasis | Not published | Not published DSO is part of the Dubai Integrated Economic Zones Authority. | Not published | Not stated | Not published | Not published | [1] |
| Expo City Dubai Expo City Dubai free zone | Not published | Not published The published fee list has no fit-out or building permit item. | Not published | Not stated | Not published | Not published | [1][2] |
What order do fit-out approvals follow in Dubai?
Landlord first, then the authority for the area, then Civil Defence and DEWA where the scope needs them, then completion.
- Landlord or building owner consent: NOC or written consent; free zone landlords apply their own fit-out manual (Tenant)
- Permit from the authority for the area: Dubai Municipality, DDA, Trakhees or the free zone process in the table (Approved contractor or consultant submits)
- Civil Defence approval: Fire alarm, sprinklers and fire safety, where the body requires it (Contractor)
- DEWA, if power or water changes: Load increase or new meters (Contractor or tenant)
- Inspection and completion certificate: Then the unit can open for business (Authority or landlord)
How we built it
- One row per body that approves commercial interior fit-out in Dubai. We opened each body's own website or document on 3 November 2026; the date checked is in the CSV.
- Permit names, timings and fees are copied as the body states them, with units. Where a body does not publish a value, the cell says "not published". We do not infer from other zones.
- Civil Defence is "yes" only where the body's own rules name a Civil Defence approval or condition for the works.
- Meydan Free Zone was checked and publishes no fit-out route, so it has no row. DIFC, DWTC and DAFZA hand their fit-out rules to tenants directly; we say so instead of guessing.
- Rules change. Each row links to its sources; tell us at contact if something is out of date and we will re-check it.
The order of the steps, who signs and the documents to prepare are explained in the guide fit-out approvals in Dubai: who approves what.
Licence: CC BY 4.0. Please credit "SoukLocal (souklocal.ae)" and link to this page.
Related: renovation approvals by community (dataset) · Dubai Contractor Register · compare fit-out quotes side by side · check a contractor.
Questions
Who approves fit out in DMCC?
DMCC publishes an NOC step: a DMCC company or the property owner requests a "NOC to Concordia - Fit-out" on the DMCC member portal, and DMCC issues the NOC to Concordia. DMCC's schedule of charges says unit fit-out fees vary by type of fit-out and to contact Concordia. No timing is published.
Do I need Dubai Municipality approval for office fit out?
On the mainland, yes if the unit is over 100 square metres: a contractor on the Municipality's approved list applies for a decoration works permit through the Dubai Building Permit System (Administrative Resolution No. 85 of 2019). Units of 100 sq m or less and units in shopping malls need no permit, but Civil Defence rules and the owner's written consent still apply. In DDA zones, Trakhees areas and free zones, those bodies handle it instead.
How long does fit-out approval take in Dubai?
Published service times: the Dubai Municipality decoration self permit is instant, the DDA Fit-Out Permit takes an estimated 2 working days, the Trakhees Modification Permit has a 7 working day target from payment approval, and the Jafza Modification NOC takes 3 working days. Most free zones publish no time, and landlord and Civil Defence steps add to it.
Does Civil Defence need to approve a fit-out?
For 4 of the 11 bodies here, the published rules include Civil Defence: Dubai Municipality requires its conditions to be met, DDA asks for the Dubai Civil Defence completion certificate before its own completion certificate, Jafza lists a Civil Defence initial approval for major fit-out, and Dubai South names Civil Defence for fire and LPG. The others do not state the step.
Can I reuse this data?
Yes. The dataset is free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 with attribution to SoukLocal (souklocal.ae) and a link to this page.
Sources
- Dubai Municipality: Dubai Municipality services (service list), opened 3 November 2026. Lists "Self Permit to Carry Out Decorative Works": building contracting and decor companies get an instant self permit for decorative works in units over 100 sq m. Also lists the NOC to DEWA for more electricity current or new meters (2 working days) and the building completion certificate for decor permits.
- Dubai Legislation Portal: Administrative Resolution No. (85) of 2019 Concerning the Licensing of Decoration Works, opened 3 November 2026. Units over 100 sq m need a permit applied for by a DM-approved contractor through the Dubai Building Permit System; units of 100 sq m or less and units in shopping malls are exempt; Civil Defence requirements and the owner's written consent apply in both cases.
- Dubai Development Authority: Fit-Out Permit (service page), opened 3 November 2026. Requester: contractor. Documents include the tenant's contractor appointment letter, Ejari, NOC from the building owner and NOCs from relevant authorities. Estimated 2 working days. Fee AED 0.90 per sq ft (minimum AED 200, maximum AED 10,000) plus AED 10 Knowledge and AED 10 Innovation Dirham.
- Dubai Development Authority: Fit-out Services ID Cards (Issue 5, December 2021), opened 3 November 2026. Service F-01 Fit-Out Permit, applicant: fit-out contractor, 2 working days; F-02 completion needs the Dubai Civil Defence completion certificate.
- Dubai Development Authority: Fit-Out Completion Certificate (service page), opened 3 November 2026. Requester: contractor; documents include the Dubai Civil Defense completion certificate; estimated 2 working days; fees N/A.
- Dubai Development Authority: Circular 338, Amendments in Fit out Permit Process (11 December 2019), opened 3 November 2026. No DDA fit-out permit for units of 100 sq m or less or units in shopping malls, subject to a Dubai-licensed fit-out contractor, Civil Defence conditions and landlord approval; structural changes, change of use, mezzanines and merging units still need a building modification permit.
- Dubai Development Authority: Circular 318, Amendments in Fit out Permit Process (5 May 2019), opened 3 November 2026. Painting, non-structural demolition, like-for-like ceilings, furniture, flooring, low partitions and reinstatement need only the landlord or facilities management NOC or permit to work.
- Dubai Development Authority: Decision No. 1 of 2021 Concerning Licence Categories, opened 3 November 2026. Names the DDA zones: Dubai Internet City, Dubai Media City, Dubai Knowledge Park, Dubai International Academic City, Dubai Outsource City, Dubai Production City, Dubai Studio City, Dubai Science Park, Dubai Design District and Emirates Towers.
- PCFC Trakhees: Client Procedure for obtaining Modification Permits (PCFC-TRK-CED-MF-CP-01, Rev. 02, September 2024), opened 3 November 2026. Any modification and fit-out works in completed facilities within Trakhees jurisdiction need a Modification Permit from the CED Modification Section. Applied for online by the consultant or applicant. Target 7 working days from payment approval for a new permit. Service fees "as per project specification".
- PCFC: About Trakhees, opened 3 November 2026. Trakhees regulates properties of PCFC, Dubai World and their affiliates, naming Nakheel, Limitless and Dubai Maritime City.
- DMCC: Application Guideline 2.1.2, Request for NOC to Concordia - Fit-out, opened 3 November 2026. A DMCC company or the property owner may request the NOC on the DMCC member portal; DMCC then issues an NOC to Concordia. No timing or fee stated.
- DMCC: Knowledge bank, Managing your business, opened 3 November 2026. Lists "NOC for licensed co. fit out" and the fit-out undertaking letter template.
- DMCC: Schedule of charges, opened 3 November 2026. "Unit fit-out: Please contact Concordia. Varies depending on the type of fit-out."
- DMCC: Free zone (destinations), opened 3 November 2026. DMCC destinations: Uptown Dubai and JLT.
- DIFC Investments: Tenant Manual (DIFC-MM-MA-01 Rev 02, May 2025), opened 3 November 2026. Section 3.4: all works must follow the Fit-Out Manual referred to in the lease; the Fit-Out Manual is on the Client Portal or on request; covers Gate District, Gate Village, Gate Avenue, Innovation One and other buildings owned or managed by DIFC Investments.
- DIFC: Tenant Relations, opened 3 November 2026. Tenant Relations handles property management and fit-out matters; requests go through the DIFC Client Portal.
- Jafza: Fit-out Manual (August 2024), opened 3 November 2026. Major fit-out needs the Jafza Modification NOC, Civil Defence initial approval and the Trakhees EHS and CED modification permit. The tenant's consultant or contractor submits; first review by the building maintenance contractor 2 working days; Modification NOC on Dubai Trade 3 working days.
- Jafza: Asset and property management guidelines, opened 3 November 2026. Links the Fit-out Manual, development control regulations and the NOC user guide.
- Dubai South: Tenant Fit-Out Manual (Version 1.3, January 2017), opened 3 November 2026. Authority is Dubai World Central Corporation (Dubai South); fire and LPG approvals sit with Dubai Civil Defense, water and electricity with DEWA; works by contractors registered with Dubai South. Fees: Fit-out Work Permit AED 15 per sq m (minimum AED 2,500), Fit-out HSEQ NOC AED 1,000 up to 1,000 sq m or AED 10,000 above. Served from the same content store as dubaisouth.ae.
- Dubai Airport Freezone (DAFZ): Frequently asked questions, opened 3 November 2026. Points interior design requests not available in the Customer Portal to an Interior Design team contact; no fit-out permit, timing or fee published.
- Dubai World Trade Centre Authority: Free Zone Rules and Regulations (V15, September 2026), opened 3 November 2026. Defines the "Authority Fit-Out Policy": tenancy fit-out works guidelines, standards and procedures issued by the Authority. The policy itself is not published.
- Dubai Silicon Oasis: Investor Guide 2026, opened 3 November 2026. DSO is part of the Dubai Integrated Economic Zones Authority; no fit-out route published in the guide or on dso.ae pages checked.
- Expo City Dubai: Free Zone services, opened 3 November 2026. Publishes licensing and permit guides (business, event and freelance permits); no fit-out route.
- Expo City Dubai Authority: Fees and Service Charges List (September 2025), opened 3 November 2026. Linked from expocitydubai.com; no fit-out or building permit item.
- Meydan Free Zone: Detailed guide to engineering services (updated 9 September 2026), opened 3 November 2026. A licensing guide for engineering activities; no fit-out approval route. Meydan Free Zone has no row for this reason.